Skip to content

That most influential message…

September 8, 2008

First up, I’ve had a bit of a think about how much I’d like to blog. The answer is- not too much. I’ll evaluate that after a while, but for now I’d like to post once a week, on a Thursday. Without making any promises, I’d suggest stopping by on a Thursday or Friday to see if anything new is up. WordPress stats have let me know people still are checking back for a read and I’m sorry to have disappointed for the last little while.

So… the drumroll moment has come. The most influential sermon I have heard is: The Last Generation- by Steve Lawson.

Preaching during the June 07 Impact Conference at the old Hastings Bible Church (now Riverbend Bible Church), Lawson preached the text of 1 Corinthians 15:50-58; and I’m still recovering.

He had preached a 5 message series on the Beatitudes, in tandem with Jerry Wragg who preached on Philippians 2. But it was this message that around 200 people will never forget. Though the message was 70 minutes long, it felt no more than 15. Afterwards, the entire congregation sat in a stunned silence for a further 5 minutes. The audio recording does not catch the full intensity of the message, the first 20minutes feels so much longer than I remember. The Spirit-fuelled reception of the word cannot be grasped through computer speakers. But the truth spoken remains the same. Should you wish to know what Whitfield sounded like, I imagine this would be a living example.

I moved churches after hearing this message, strongly believing that the Lord had a ministry for me to be involved in at that church, though not knowing any details. Within weeks, that proved to be correct as I was asked to shepherd and transition the high school ministry. Around 5 people decided to go to bible college after hearing this message, a further 3 men that I know of plan to attend seminary. That would be a mere fraction of the effect this message has had on New Zealand churches.

How I wish such conviction would grip the churches across our country more often! Preach the word and faithfully pray that the Spirit would choose to do His work!

If you don’t have the time or even the desire to listen to the whole message, I would recommend reading the text and then listening to parts 7 and 8.

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4,

Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8

Maranatha ‘O Lord, come quickly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katherine N permalink
    October 1, 2008 10:22 am

    Hey Jono,
    (hey, it’s my first comment!!)
    I’m sure this would encourage you, so I just thought I’d leave a note and let you know… But God worked through your posting this message on your blog, and blessed its being sent around an ’email-encouragement chain’ on gmail, and as well as its sharing of the key points at a prayer meeting tonight. We really should just have two days on our calendar..

    A quote —
    “No chapter has all the joys. Finite life is a series of tradeoffs. Finding God’s will and living for the glory of Christ to the full in every chapter is what makes it a success, not whether it reads like somebody else’s chapter or whether it has in it what only another chapter will bring”. — John Piper, A Vision of Biblical Complementarity.

    Cheers!!
    Katherine 🙂

  2. Katherine N permalink
    October 1, 2008 10:25 am

    By the way, the reference to ‘two days on our calendar’ – i think it came from that sermon too? – were those two days, Today, and That Day (When Jesus Comes Back).

Leave a Reply

